Holy Basil Tea for Anxiety (Tulsi Tea)

Jill at PanicFreeMe.com wrote about Holy Basil Tea and how it helped with her anxiety.  I’ve had it a while but had not given it a real try until today.

I did drink it before, but only on really stressful days, days that I also took ativan.  So I didn’t really know if it was helping or not.

This is the week my hormones are in overdrive and I feel like my skin is crawling.  This is the hardest week of the month.   I really don’t want to depend on ativan every day this week!  So I made myself some tea this morning.

I love it!  I will definitely be drinking this more often!

This is the link to what I bought on amazon:  Organic India Tulsi Tea 

I have no idea why it is called both Holy Basil Tea And Tulsi Tea.  I could probably google it but don’t really care to I guess.  Ha.  All I know is it was nice.  It was not like I got a buzz or anything like that.  I just felt calmer soon after I drank it.  That’s all.  And that’s what I needed.

Now, wondering where I can buy this in bulk….  It’d be nice to find it some place local.

Jill also mentioned that you are supposed to be able to chew on the holy basil leaves too.  Strangely, I think I’d like that.  I like chewing on sunflower seed shells, so why not tea leaves right?

I might have to try some thing like this:  Loose Leaf Herbal Tea with Holy Basil

Thanks Jill :)

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 05:48:21

    Hi Zoe, I’m so glad you finally started drinking Holy Basil Tea! I think it is one of the best natural remedies I have ever used for anxiety. I love it, drink it before going into stressful events, and it does help!! :)

    Reply

  2. fatman100
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 16:59:06

    Tulsi is the indian name for holy basil. fyi :)

    Reply

  3. Zoe
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 20:08:32

    Thanks fatman100 :)

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Holy Basil!…A version of Mr Bean as a good neighbour and Fire Ants!…. « avatarofmrbean
  5. Cassie
    May 15, 2012 @ 01:54:34

    In addition to what fatman101 said, Tulsi is a principle herb of Ayurveda, India’s ancient holistic health system. I read more about from Dr. Mercola at http://organicindia.mercola.com/tulsi-tea.aspx

    Reply

  6. Sara
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 09:15:33

    You bought Tulsi mixed with Green Tea which adds caffeine. Plain Tulsi, sold by the same brand youre using, would be more effective against anxiety. I have bought the same one as you by mistake, without realizing it until i wondered why the flavor was different and why i suddenly couldnt sleep at night after drinking it – oops.

    Reply

  7. Zoe
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 22:51:19

    Thank you Sara for pointing that out!
    I found it here now – http://www.amazon.com/Tulsi-Tea-Original-Caffeine-Free-Bags/dp/B0011UBD2M/ref=pd_bxgy_hpc_text_y
    I added it to my amazon wish list so I order the right one next time!

    Reply

    • Sara
      Aug 28, 2012 @ 14:43:44

      Glad I could help out! Just so you know, it doesn’t have to be labeled “caffeine free.” Tulsi tea on its own is naturally caffeine-free. It’s when they add in green tea or any other type of tea that has caffeine, that gives it the caffeine.

      I checked out the link you provided. I thought you might like to know that you don’t have to keep buying it from an outside seller/shipper. “Web Vitamins” is shipping your product – not Amazon. You can buy it directly from Amazon so that it ships from Amazon’s warehouse (seems most reliable?) at the same price. Here’s where I’ve been buying it: http://www.amazon.com/Organic-India-Tulsi-Original-18-Count/dp/B00134XL58/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1346178603&sr=8-2&keywords=tulsi+tea+original It just ships two boxes instead of one, which is super convenient, especially since you are probably paying for shipping. (And if you have amazon prime, you don’t pay any shipping when dealing with them as the shipper.)

      Lastly, if you happen to have a Shaws supermarket nearby, they sell it in the whole foods section.

      :)

      Reply

  8. help stop panic attacks
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 18:22:49

    This is my first time visit at here and i am truly happy to read everthing
    at one place.

    Reply

  9. jeenn
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 15:02:41

    I wasnt able to buy this one since I am here in the philippines but I have to try the Holy Basil Fusion made by First Vita plus.. I will have it tomorrow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 52,880 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

