Fighting back against anxiety / panic attacks

I have been fighting back against panic / anxiety attacks now for 4 years. I am better than I have been in a long time. What worked for me is so many things – I did try some diff meds but what I am on now is ativan as needed. Other meds definitely helped me to get where I am now. Sometimes you need them to get yourself to a better place and build some confidence so you can fight back.

What worked for me? Healthy changes: I try to go to bed every night by 10:30. I drink more hot tea now than coffee. I definitely do not have coffee on a day that there is a stressful event planned. Exercise – I like to walk. Grab a friend and go for a walk. Every little bit helps. I also read every book I could about panic attacks and how to beat them. But seriously, making sure I get enough sleep is my number one priority – and it is the MOST effective in battling my panic attacks.

Also, work yourself up to a situation. For example – I had a real problem just stopping in at the grocery store. So I went to that store EVERY day until I could do it better. Seriously. Some days when it was really bad – I just sat there in the parking lot. Once I went in, turned around and came back out. I just kept doing it. I didn’t tell anyone what I was doing. I believe “fake it till you make it” works wonderfully. I didn’t want people pitying me – or watching me closely to see how I would reacts in situations – I didn’t want the extra attention. Now when I first started this store thing – I would take ativan before going – eventually, I would forget to take it… work yourself up to it. You will build confidence and you will beat it. And I would just buy myself a treat if we didn’t need anything else from the store – LOL. Nothing like a peanut butter cup to motivate you to get yourself into that store!

Don’t avoid situations that make you feel uncomfortable – I know that sounds hard – but that is like giving in.  It will be harder and harder to do those things if you give up.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Max
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 11:35:30

    I just wanted to thank you for sharing your struggle with the rest of us who are dealing with this awful awful condition,, feels like not a day goes by without worrying about some stupid shit that other people take for granted.
    I`ve decided to fight this for the first time now and hopefully therapy will help as it has helped you.

    Reply

  2. toughwords
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 15:13:04

    Good luck to you Max. You’re right. It is hard and it’s not fair either. Keep fighting. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,685 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
