Tough and Beautiful

We need to be tough women that stand up for ourselves.  But not so tough that we intimidate others.

We need to be tough women that can make hard decisions.  But not so tough that we ignore the wise counsel of others.

We need to be tough women that raise our children to praise God and deny Satan.  But not so tough that we condemn others who do not.

We need to be tough women that become the help-meet for our husband that God intended.  But not so tough that we think we know better.

We need to be tough women that are confident in ourselves.   But not so tough that we become vain or selfish.

We need to be tough women that people can count on in hard times.   But not so tough that we reject the help of others.

We need to be tough women that make our husband proud.  But not so tough that we make him feel he is not needed.

We need to be tough.  But not so tough that we no longer feel beautiful.

By me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jen
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 08:40:37

    Love it!

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    May 05, 2011 @ 20:23:22

    This is very well said. We do need to be tough enough to be independent. If a marriage fails we need to know we can stand on our own two feet. I agree we don’t want to be so tough that we harden. Thank you for sharing this beautiful poem with us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,660 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
