Happy Hubby Moment – The Window.

I like to open the windows and let in the fresh air as often as possible.  Yesterday is got up to 62 degrees here.  Beautiful!  So I had the front door open – the screen door closed of course.  And the window in my office open a little.  It was still a bit chilly but I figured it was airing out any sick germs in the house right?  (ugh – nasty stuff going around school!) And I turned back the thermostat so that the heat wouldn’t kick on because  of this.

Hubby and I have had many arguments about this.  Ugh.  Too many.

He hates it when I move the thermostat at all.  I say get over it.  I turn it down during the day when the kids leave for school.  Our oil bill is $200/month!  I’d rather wear a sweatshirt than pay more!  It is warmer upstairs so it does not make him cold upstairs while he is sleeping or anything.  He is the guy though that says you set the thermostat at the ideal temperature and LEAVE IT ALONE.  Says it is more effiecient that way. I dunno about that.  If I get hot, I turn it down.

He says I let the heat out  & the cold air in when I open the windows.  Yes, I do sometimes.  It is fresh air and I think we all need that in the house.  It needs to be aired out, right?  I think so :)  Like I said, I turn down the thermostat when I do it.

One time he came into my office, and just closed my window.  I said I wanted it open.  And he refused to open it again.  And then yelled at me when I opened it again. We had a big fight about the fact that he thought he was in charge of the window in my office.  It is my office.  Yes we share this house, but no one else was in here with me.  Come on, if he was in the living room watching TV or something and opened up the window, I would not just go close it.

It’s some sort of weird control thing I think.  It makes stupid stuff like this into big deals.

The Happy Hubby Moment? When he came downstairs yesterday and saw the front door open he grumbled something like “The door is hanging wide open….”   I think he thought kid1 just didn’t close it when she came in.  I said it’s open on purpose.  He came back to my office, walked over and looked out my window.  He said it is still chilly out and closed it.  And then he looked at me kinda sideways to see if I would react.  I gave him a look and he opened it again and laughed.

The best part of this is that the last time we had a fight about the windows was in the fall, so September maybe?  So it’s not something we have “discussed” recently.  He just saw the situation all differently now that we like each other again.  And respect?  The respect is growing in this house.  Before we both just wanted to win.  Now, we want to get along.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trish
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 10:13:41

    Your statement “Before we both just wanted to win. Now, we want to get along,” that is profound!!! I think many marriages forget it’s a partnership.
    Kudos to you for the progress!

    Reply

  2. toughwords
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 15:22:30

    Thanks Trish :)
    Sometimes it’s hard to remember that – sometimes the anger couples have toward each other just takes over. I hope we continue in this direction!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,418 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
