Spring Musical Anxiety – Follow Up

Continued from this post.

We all went to the musical.    :)

Both kids came home from school wanting to go.  I took some deep breaths in my room, planned when to take my ativan and got on with it.  Yesterday was hard for me – I felt like my anxiety was already through the roof and then I had to go to one of the worst panic-inducing places for me.  Ugh.

Obviously I made it out alive.  I sat as close to the door as I could get.  They usually keep that gym door open to let some air in, this year it was closed.  About 20 minutes in, I said to a friend sitting in front of me that it was so horribly hot in there.  She had been fanning herself with the program the entire time.  Her hubby took it upon himself to open the doors.  It took him a while to find a door stop, but the breeze was awesome.  Many of us were thankful.  Relief!  After the musical, hubby went home and the kids and I and some of their bffs went to the grade school to see the art and avoid the book fair.  It was a good time.    Some day I will not stress about these things.  I look forward to that day!

Oh – remember a little while ago I posted about the friend of ours that had died unexpectedly?   He died just a few days after his wife gave birth to a beautiful baby girl.  This man’s mother sat down in the bleachers next to me, holding that precious child.  I almost cried.  She is so very beautiful.  So much long black hair.  She slept sweetly the entire time.  Grandma was very proud.

That put it all in perspective for me for sure.  How can I even stress about sitting there in the bleachers when I look over at this tiny new person who has already had so much grief in her life – whether she knows it yet or not.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. thisbrokenhearthashope
    May 13, 2011 @ 10:19:56

    I should have read this before my last comment! I’m glad you all went. Man, this really brought back memories of being in school. Why are those events always so gosh darned hot?!?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,081 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
