We are going camping!

We are going camping tomorrow.  I am so excited.  I love it.  I really do.  It is a complete pain in the rear to pack for though.  I should still be doing that but needed a break.  Ugh.

We do primitive camping.  No plumbing, no electricity, sleep in tents, cook on the fire pit (& our Coleman stove).

All the sites have on them are a picnic table and a fire ring.  If you are lucky, there is a decently level spot to put your tent :)  You are actually in the woods.  It is a state park campground, but no cleared lots with grass and electrical hookups.  Real, honest to goodness camping.  Other than the bathrooms, it’s perfect!  Ha.

There is a hand pump not too far away for drinking water.  The bathrooms are basically like port-a-potty’s in a little building.

Rustic camping to be sure.  This year my sisters and their kids are camping with my kids & I on Thursday night.  No hubbies that night.  Then they are going home late Friday and hubby is coming after work.  He works 3rd shift so will probably sleep some first too.  My sisters have not camped as adults.  We used to all go when we were kids.  My younger sister says she doesn’t remember it though.

My older sister is appalled that there is not even a sink to wash her face in.

My younger sister says we need to rough it even more.  She wants to just eat hot dogs and s’mores the entire time and says we don’t even need plates.  I disagree – we need paper plates cuz I really don’t want to sit in some marshmallow goo on the picnic table bench.  It’s happened before.  Ha.  Besides that, half the fun of camping is cooking over the fire.  We are definitely cooking more that hot dogs and marshmallows!

There will be  3 adults and 9 kids.  LOL  Sounds crazy when I type it like that.

Then they will all go home, hubby will come and we will settle into our very relaxing, peaceful, restful, rejuvenating vacation.  I love it – can you tell?!?  (I’m a Girl Scout at heart!)

Well I guess I better go finish packing then huh?

Happy Camping!

Camping Last Year :)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill Green
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 08:15:24

    Woo hoo! You are stoked! Have a wonderful vacation & enjoy every minute- it sounds awesome :)

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 17:42:37

    Enjoy. Even though that’s my personal idea of hell, different strokes for different folks. LOL! Seriously though, I hope you get the relaxation and rejuvenation you so richly deserve!! Have fun and be safe; I can’t wait to hear all about it :-)

    Reply

  3. toughwords
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:55:16

    LOVE camping. I know many people do not… but there is nothing like sitting in the woods in the dark by an open fire, roasting marshmallows and hanging out with people you love. No schedules, no worries. No cares about the clock. Just ‘being’. Try it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,081 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
