Happy Tuesday

Some rambling today:

My cold won’t go away.  My sore throat is getting a little less sore but I’m still all stuffed up and now my right ear is painful.  Congestion.  Ugh.

I have gotten more sleep lately than usual because I’ve been in a cold medicine fog.  I guess that’s a plus.

Kid1 & I went his morning to re-take her blood test to check her blood sugar levels.  We randomly checked it last night and it was 173.  Not good.  She said “What’s wrong with me ??!?”

She is getting a D on her report card in Science.  I never even knew there was a problem in Science!  This is the first ever D on a report card.  I hate it.  D’s are not OK!  We worked hard on math and got that back up to a C.  Ugh.  I always got As & Bs so this is very hard for me to accept.  And I do not accept it actually.  She is now going to tutoring at the public library twice a week.  College students are running it.  It sounded good.  But it really seems like more of a social hour. Now I found out that there is tutoring specifically for math at the school library one day a week after school.  So we’ll be trying that also because she brought home a test yesterday with a 44%.  Ugh.  My daughter is not dumb.  She is capable of doing this.  So I don’t get it.  If I study with her, she does good.  But she is in 8th grade, she needs to be able to do this more independently.  And let’s be real here – it’s hard!  I have to sit down & relearn math I have long since forgotten every night of my life and re-teach it to her.  That takes a lot of time.  Of course she is worth it.  But I have 2 other children, a hubby, a job, and many other things that I have to do also so sometimes it is just too much!

Kid1 has always had to work hard for her grades.  Various teachers over the years have told me she has ADD and I should medicate her.  I never did.  Every time a struggle like this comes up though I wonder if it was the right decision.  SHe has to work hard, so much harder than most kids and she CAN do it if she can get herself to sit down, focus, and get on with it.  Sometimes she is so unorganized though she doesn’t even know what she is supposed to be studying!

So the questions pop back into my mind.  Maybe we are making her life much harder than it needs to be by not trying medication.  Maybe we are doing the RIGHT thing by not giving her medicine. She has to learn how to be herself in this world after all, doesn’t she?  I don’t want her to think she has to be medicated to fit in!  Blah blah blah.  Who knows.  Same old questions swirling around in my brain.

Tomorrow I am supposed to the gyne for my anuual exam, which I have to cancel because of bad timing.  Yay!  ha.  And then Thursday is parent visitation day at the school which sometimes stresses me out.  Not yet cuz I’m too busy to even think about it yet!  And my boss is piling the work on with deadlines all over the place!  aaagggghhhh.

Perhaps a little nyquil and my comfy bed is the solution?  A girls can dream…..

Have a good day everyone.   :)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. snarkatussin
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 16:58:48

    As a teacher, I’d recommend going through all special education testing before choosing medication as an option. ADHD is oftentimes over-diagnosed, but there could be a minor learning disability diagnosis that could come from the testing. If that’s the case, she could get extra help, in class, and extra time for tests, preferential seating, and the like. There are a lot of accommodations to be made for students who teachers have on an IEP. If you have any questions about the process, please don’t hesitate to ask!

    Reply

  2. Zoe
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 10:10:28

    HI. Thank you for reminding me of this. Sometimes it is so frustrating. I will be talking to her math teacher next week at conferences. He said in an email to me that if it is simply a testing issue, then there are other things we can do to help her. At least he seems willing to help, and open to ideas. I don’t know. She says she has plenty of time to take the tests. She says she re-checks them before she hands them in. Altho I’m not sure I believe that part. She just makes stupid mistakes. That’s mainly what it is. On the test I looked at last night, as she was solving she said 10-3=6. Now I know she knows that! But that of course made the whole problem wrong. And then she switched variables letters half way thru one problem and of course that resulted in the wrong answer. It’s just stupid stuff. But that’s what math is – I mean you miss a neg sign, the whole thing is wrong right? So I don’t know what will help her. She seems so discouraged right now and that doesn’t help. I really believe it is a focus thing more than a testing thing. So we’ll see. Hopefully meeting with the teacher next week will be helpful. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 63,878 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
