12th Birthday Party Bummer

On Saturday Kid2 turned 12 :)

She had a birthday sleepover Friday night.  Usually we have great parties.  We really do.  We plan all sorts of games and make t-shirts and all sorts of stuff.  Last year the girls seemed a little bored with it so this year I didn’t plan much.  I get it – they are getting older and they usually just want to dance, text, paint their nails, gab, sing, giggle, etc.

Well this year they were bored.  6 bored 12 year old girls.  Did you know that boredom is contagious??  I swear all they did was sit around texting who knows who and moaning that they were bored.  Rude much?  I tried to stay out of it but did offer suggestions & food.  :)  Blame it on electronics!  Kid2 was upset that they kept saying they were bored but didn’t want to do anything anyway.  Really a bummer party.  Usually by about 2am I can’t stand the loud squeals and I tell them to hush.  This time?  When I went to bed at 12:30 – they were laying around the living room watching TV and I don’t think they even got up after that cuz all was quiet the rest of the night.  For once I wanted them to be loud & wild!

Saturday wasn’t much better.  Sometimes we have family parties, sometimes we don’t.  I hadn’t planned one – and the in-laws will usually just stop in and give the bday kid a gift.  Well Kid2 was down in the dumps about her slumber party and then became very focused on the fact that there was no family party planned.  I told her fine – we’d invite them down for cake & ice cream Saturday night.  Grammy & Pappy were the only ones that could make it.  It was last minute, so that was understandable.

And I didn’t get her Just Dance 3 for the Wii which she REALLY wanted.

And I was not doing good that day so I was not very patient with her ‘woe is me’ attitude.

She is fine now of course.  Saturday night we sang “It’s my birthday and I’ll cry if I want to!” together.  We giggled.  :)

THANK YOU LORD for my beautiful daughter!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –  – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –  –

Last year her birthday party was rough too – in different ways.  At least I didn’t have to deal with grumpy hubby drama this year.  Just bored tweens drama.  (Hubby was watching TV and snoring in the bedroom by 9pm!  Ha) Perhaps next year will be drama free??   Maybe I’ll just take a few of them to the movies and then drive them home.  Sounds like a good idea to me!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 06:08:06

    Yeah those girls were rude, I’ve had the same thing over here- kids sitting around texting and silence…. but what a sweet ending. When in doubt, sing!

    Reply

  2. snarkatussin
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 18:36:51

    It sounds like you did a good job at turning your daughter’s mood around. It’s so funny, because we tell parents all the time that middle schoolers need just as much supervision and planning as they did in elementary school, if not more.

    Good luck with the next slumber party :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 63,878 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
