My Best Valentine’s Day Ever: Sixth Grade

Valentine’s Day

It’s a good day because it gets people in relationships to express their love to each other.

It’s an icky day cuz it is just a day of wishes, expectations, and disappointment.

I bought hubby some Valentine’s Day candy.  Hubby brought me some Valentine’s Day candy.  That was wonderful.  Funny how that should have been enough.  What more did I want?  I want him to look me in the eyes and sincerely say ‘Happy Valentine’s Day’ or ‘I love you” or something.  Yea, Yea I know.  I should just shut up and be happy.  And it was an improvement over Valentine’s Day last year.

I’m a romantic at heart.  Hubby is not.  AT ALL.  I know this.  I have been married to this man for 17 years… I know this!  It still makes me a little sad.

And facebook does not help!  Everyone who had a great Vday feels the need to brag about it and post pics, and even engagement rings.  Yay them.

My BFFs hubby works out of town.  He left for the week on Monday morning.  Before he left, she gave him a Vday gift.  I forget what it was – some kind of electronic thing.  He said to her that he doesn’t get into Vday and he doesn’t celebrate it and it’s stupid.  Now he’s not a total jerk so he probably meant something not so horrible – like maybe people should show their love all year round, not just one day a year.  I have no idea – I’m just trying to give him the benefit of the doubt.  Made BFF feel like crap though.  Yes, she knows this about him.  It is still hard to be reminded of these things every year.

Every girl wants a little romance!

My best Valentine’s Day Ever:

Sixth grade.  Kevin – my first boyfriend.  We were neighbors and in the same class at school.  We were both patrols on the bus and sat in the back 2 seats – across the isle from each other.  (Remember patrols?!?) On Valentine’s day he gave me a heart necklace.  He was SO SWEET!  It was unexpected.  It was perfect.  Best Valentine’s day I’ve ever had and I never even kissed the boy!   lol

Maybe that day is the root of all my Vday disappointments!  He set the bar too high – no guy could ever compete with that!  :)

Now that I think about that…  I have not received jewelry for Valentine’s Day since then!  I’ve had boyfriends give me stuffed animals, flowers, and candy.  (I’m sorry but somebody please tell the guys to skip the stuffed animals unless you’re still in grade school!)

Hubby has given me candy and occasionally flowers over the years but he still makes sure to let me know that he thinks it’s all a big pain.  Sigh.

I love my man.  Valentine’s Day?  Not so much.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,081 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
