Endure Patiently What You Cannot Avoid Conveniently

Today he is being nice.  It always seems to happen this way.  I reach a boiling point.  I come vent here.  He decides to be nice again and then I feel bad for babbling about all of it.

A quote I saw today:

“A man must learn to endure patiently what he cannot avoid conveniently.”
Michel de Montaigne

Kinda summed up my current situation for me – I am trying to wait patiently for either him to wise up or for my kids to be grown since it seems I cannot conveniently avoid him.  Divorce would certainly not be convenient.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deviate Soul
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 13:07:36

    I understand how you feel completely about reaching a boiling point, venting about it, and then feeling bad for babbling about all of it because he’s being nice again.

    Mind you, I don’t experience half the things you do with your husband with my own spouse — but there are times where he’s a real ass, I vent about it and then I feel bad when things go back to normal.

    I hope he starts to wise up. I don’t see how he can’t understand what his attitude and actions are doing…

    Reply

  2. Trish
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 14:04:08

    Why should you feel bad about babbling about it? You’re entitled to your feelings, and if he said or did things to upset you, you should not feel sorry for feeling hurt by it!! Sure when he’s nice again you can forgive him, but I think it’s important to remember how his actions made you feel.
    When you feel bad about babbling about it later it’s almost like saying your feelings don’t matter.

    Reply

  3. Judi
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 15:19:43

    I like Trish’s attitude!! And i do like this saying. Thanks for the post.

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 19:51:09

    Amen to what Trish said!

    If writing here helps you, I hope you don’t ever feel bad about it. It was your truth in the moment and your truth is important even when the moment has passed.

    Reply

  5. Zoe
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 23:41:48

    I love you guys! And you are absolutely right of course. I guess I just feel embarrassed that I am even typing about this stuff – it’s like here we are again. I wanted so badly for it all to stick this time. My emotions go up & down all over the place with this man, It is exhausting. Thanks :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 63,297 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
