There is more to Life

There is so much more to life than I am living.

I like my home.  I like living in my small rural town.  I like living in the country.  I’ve been to New York City 3 times in my life.  I like it.  It’s exciting!  But I would never want to live there.

I’ve been on a plane a few times.  4 times.

The only other country I’ve ever been to is Canada.  I’ve been there twice.  Once with the Girl Scouts when I was in high school.  Once during the 4th year of my marriage.  (Kid1 was conceived there actually!  lol)

My sister-in-law just went on a cruise to the Bahamas.

My dad regularly travels to the Caymen Islands and St. Thomas.

My sister flies back & forth to Florida twice every year, once when my Dad goes down for the winter and once when he is ready to come home for the summer.  And they have  been to Disney World on these trips quite a few times.

My brother and his wife bought an RV and traveled across the US last summer.  They have amazing pictures of their adventure.

I was born in Montana so I guess I have been out west – until I was 3 but that doesn’t count because I don’t remember it.

I recently reconnected with an old friend from high school on facebook.  He travels quite a bit.  Mostly in the US, but still very cool.  He’s the reason I started thinking about this.  It’s been fun catching up and seeing what he’s been up to.  He’s got great pics from all his travels.  He has pictures of himself with quite a few famous people too.   He is a huge Amy Grant fan.  He has met her several times.  He has been involved in so many things and has such a great world view.  He just signed up for yet another Amy Grant excursion – An Amy Grant Tennessee Weekend.

I am an Amy Grant fan too but certainly not to the level he is.  The thing that struck me about all of this?

It would never even occur to me to do something like that.

It’s not so expensive that it would be impossible – the cost ranges from $500 – $800 depending on how many people you share a hotel room with.  If I was going to choose an exciting place to go, this wouldn’t be it but the point is that he is out there – living his life with energy & enthusiasm.

Why aren’t I?  Well… kids, hubby, responsibilities, money….  They are real reasons to be sure but I’m sure I can do better.

I don’t need to be a jet-setter and visit a new amazing place every month.  But I DO need to get out there more.  I have no idea how to make that happen.  Life is tiring and busy and expensive.   BUT I can start small right?  Last year I started a list of things I want to do with my kids.  None of them are terribly exciting but I realized that this time with my kids is going to pass quickly.  Most of the things are local and do not cost much.  It is still more exciting than staying home another Saturday to clean the house and play baseball.

I want to get out there and DO STUFF.

Now I am laughing at myself.  How do I expect to get out there and do stuff when it stresses me out to even have to attend my child’s musical and sit in the bleachers?  How do I expect to do all these exciting new things when I stress out about stupid things like having to go somewhere in the car unexpectedly?

I don’t know.  I guess I’ll start with a plan.  Maybe I will plan to be spontaneous. Ha.  I’ll try to be as prepared as I can be.  I’ll try to change my attitude and be more outgoing and try not to be such a homebody.  Wish me luck.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trish
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 10:57:14

    Good luck, you can do it! It’s amazing what one can do when they put their mind to it and try!! I think you can :)

    Reply

  2. snarkatussin
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 20:35:31

    Check out Meetup (I think it’s meetup.org) and see if there are any groups about mutual interests. (I found my book club through Meetup in Boston.) Church groups, community organizations — all of these things are ways to get out there. Also, look on Groupon, Living Social, Eversave, and Gilt City — see what excursions they have available at discounted prices — you can use it as a way to gauge pricing. :) Enjoy! Life is wonderful :)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 63,323 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
