I Know Better

Wow.

So hubby came home and I sat here a while before I went out to talk to him.  I wanted to say the right thing.  I know I get one shot to start the conversation off right.  I don’t want him to get all defensive and refuse to talk about this.

I went to the kitchen.  He acted like nothing was even wrong.  Cuz in his mind there isn’t.  To him it is completely normal to talk to me that way.
We talked about the kids and the plans for the day.

“Why did you get so defensive this morning?  I was not criticizing your plan.  I was just asking about it.”

His face turned cold and tightened up.  Here we go.

We were talking, basically disagreeing.  I was trying to explain to him once again that I did not mean what he thinks I did.  He was saying that he will build it wherever he wants.  I said I never even said anything about that!  We went back & forth.

(Once – 12 years ago – I had an opinion about where he wanted to build a garage.  He wanted to put it in the back yard very close to the house.  We have a good bit of ground so I suggested moving it out further – I will pay for that remark until the day I die.  Ridiculous.)

We had the same argument we’ve had a million times.

I said something to the effect that it doesn’t matter what I say cuz he doesn’t care anyway.

He said “I’m listening to the part that makes sense. I’m not even hearing the rest – you know better.”

I know better?

I went off.  Oh my.

It won’t matter though.  He never hears me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: I Need A Little Me Time « My Pathetic Attempts At Love

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,081 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
