Simple Moments

The kids were all in bed.

Hubby laid down on the living room floor to take a quick nap before work.  (The floor helps his back.)

I walked by and saw him there.  I had pangs of loneliness.

So I went and laid down beside him.  I cuddled up close.  I was relieved that  he returned the cuddle.

He said “No work?”  (Usually I work after the kids go to bed.)

I said “Yea, but I feel lonely.  I need some attention.”

He laughed.  He said “You know you just have to tell me what you need cuz I have no idea.”

It’s true.  He really has no idea.

I felt happy at the time.  As I’m typing this now, I’m thinking What?!? I keep telling you & telling you what I need!

We were quiet for a long time.  He rubbed my shoulder.  We talked about how many steps were in a mile and how many miles you’d have to go to hit the 10,000 steps goal.  I love feeling his strong arms around me.  I laid there with my head on his chest – watching it rise and fall with each breath, feeling his heart beat on the side of my face.  I felt safe.

I miss this man.  I miss moments like this.

I want every day, every moment to be this simple.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judi
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 10:13:57

    awww…..you made me smile.

    Reply

  2. Terrific_Thursday
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 20:34:57

    Get off the blog and stay near to him (even if on the floor). Keep kindness in the picture while letting him know about your needs. A man has an urge to satisfy; this may be why he’s great at fixing up old tractors. His attention may be great natural medicine for your panic attacks, too.

    Reply

  3. Zoe
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 07:38:53

    If only it were that simple.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 63,878 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
