Anxiety: Don’t Forget to Breathe

How can a person forget to breathe?

It is supposed to just happen naturally.  When did I learn this horrible habit of holding my breath when I’m nervous about something?  I am not even aware that I am doing it.  Ugh.

I should not have to be taught to breath.  How is it even possible to learn to breath incorrectly?

Feeling frustrated right now.

Jill wrote about this a while ago.  I just re-read it.

http://panicfreeme.com/2301/how-to-do-diaphragmatic-breathing/

I don’t have time to lay down and do the whole thing now.  But I’m doing it while sitting here at my desk, dreading the upcoming conference call.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill Green
    May 02, 2012 @ 12:14:47

    Hi Zoe, sorry I missed this when you originally posted it. We do naturally hold our breath,- it’s very subtle actually and you may not even know you’re doing it- that is one of the reasons you get anxiety symptoms.

    I know you’re a super busy mom, but have you ever tried yoga? Even a short session would show you how to do that nice slow diaphragmatic breathing. You gotta make that belly breathing a habit girl :-) It really helps.

    Reply

  2. Zoe
    May 02, 2012 @ 13:46:06

    Hi Jill. I made it through. I have several conference calls a month that I usually don’t worry about at all. This one just stressed me out cuz the client is an ass. lol He’s very arrogant and hard to deal with.
    I haven’t done yoga since I was pregnant with kid3! I like the idea though and agree it would probably help me! Can you recommend any good DVDs?
    Thanks for caring :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 63,843 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
