Anxiety: Dentist Exposure Therapy & Wings :)

This morning:

I was going to ask hubby to take Kid3 to the dentist today.  His appointment is at 3:30.  I wanted a day off from ativan.  There are so many things happening and I have been taking it pretty regularly.  :(

But hubby is still awake working on a tractor.  So he will not get to bed until late, which means he will need to sleep.  Argh.

Yea, yea I know.  It’s good for me to take him anyway.  Exposure therapy and all that.

Now at the end of the day:

Hubby said sure he would take him – if he was awake by then.  I knew he wouldn’t be so I planned ahead, took my ativan, lit my apple scented candle, and tried to forget about it and get some work done.  It worked pretty well and by the time I picked Kid3 up from school I was feeling confident.

This appointment was easier for kid3.  (And easier for me to watch!) No shots of novocaine, nothing too nasty, just a cavity that needed to be filled.  He was nervous though and that usually makes me more nervous.  It was ok though.  Better than last time.  The dizzy feelings that I usually get sitting in that chair watching never came. Hallelujah.

The first time Kid3 had to get a tooth filled we went to get wings afterward.  It was a few months ago.  Kid3 and I rarely go somewhere by ourselves, usually he is his dad’s sidekick.  Or his sisters are with us too.  So I decided to make it special.  He had been to this wing place with a friend and just kept raving about it.  We don’t go out to eat a whole lot so this was a treat for me too.

Then the next time he went to the dentist, then entire family joined us for wings.  This time Kid3 said “We have to go mom, it’s a tradition.”

So we went.  I love hanging out with my little man.   We had a good time.  He loved the jukebox and played tons of songs.

He is totally worth the risk of a panic attack.  :)

 

Don’t miss the air guitar in the 3rd pic.  Ha Ha.  Love him!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jill Green
    May 24, 2012 @ 06:55:28

    What a cutie! Great job as usual!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,081 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
