One More School Assembly

Only 1 more school event and I am FREE!

No more school assemblies, concerts, parent teacher conferences, parent visitation days, musicals, ……. at least until fall :)

Looking forward to that like a kid counting down the days until their birthday!  Ha ha.

Kid2’s awards assembly was yesterday.  It went well.  Hubby didn’t go.  Mom-in-law did but got there before me and sat right in the middle aisle near the front.  Umm…. no.  I went and said hello and told her I was going to sit near the back because I like to stand up  and take pictures.  She was already gabbing happily with the lady next to her.  She didn’t mind at all so I went to the back.

There were no seats left at the end of any rows.  That got my head spinning a bit, but I found a seat in the middle of the back row and convinced myself it was fine because all I had to do to exit was slide my chair back and get out that way.  Yes, I know it is ridiculous to worry about things like that.

I had taken 2 ativans already and did better than expected.  I was worried about a repeat of the panic attack I had at parent teacher conferences.  Happily that didn’t happen.  I still wrote in my little notebook.  I still got very uncomfortably choked up when they gave out the awards that are in memory of children who have died. I took pictures.  And more pictures.  I chatted with an old friend who sat down next to me.  It was fine.  It was really fine. And I was thrilled.

Tomorrow is the 6th grade graduation.  Kid2 is excited.  Lots of kids are speaking – each about different topics that are near and dear to their graduating hearts.  They have put together a slide show of their elementary years.  I have been told to bring my tissues.

This one will be tough because – well because these things are terrible for me anyway – add the tissues and it could get real hard real fast.

I used to think 6th grade graduation was kinda silly.  Now though I see that it is really more about leaving the grade school and beginning Jr high.  That is a big step and it is certainly worthy of a graduation type assembly.  And cake.  :)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill Green
    May 31, 2012 @ 17:35:13

    I had my last parent kid event last night. Glad I went and thankful it’s over.

    Reply

  2. Zoe
    May 31, 2012 @ 23:30:52

    Amen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,684 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
