Parenting Fail

My parents failed in this area.

My kid’s parents are failing in this area.

source:pinterest

This was not a family tradition I wanted to continue.  I have seen the results.  I am the result.  Low self-esteem, insecure, indecisive, codependent, the list goes on.  I need to fix this NOW.  How do I fix it?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rootstoblossom
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 10:10:23

    Been there. I had to rock the boat and demand respect – but also had to realize I was not giving it where it was due. My marriage was so broken, but I was afraid to be on my own. One day I took that leap, and knew I was ready to handle whatever may happen, and listed out all the things that needed to change. Because I respected myself and could no longer live that way. And I trusted myself to handle whatever may happen, knowing that it would be better for the kids to have a single parent than 2 disrespectful ones. Luckily – I think – Asking him to leave, showing him I meant it, was the wake-up call he needed to pay attention to me, and to his own life. We had been stuck for so many years. I’m not saying you should do this, or pretending to know your situation, just sharing what I did. That was last March, and the house is sooo much more peaceful now. Still working on many issues, but without the resentment and disrespect. Mostly.

    Reply

  2. Zoe
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 22:13:54

    Thanks for your comment. I did actually shake things up not too long ago. It is so much better than it has been for probably 5-6 years. Unfortunately ‘so much better’ doesn’t mean we are a happy happy family :( I wish it would stick. There is a blowup, things get better for a while, and then old habits starts creeping back in and yuk! I’ll just keep trying, what else can I do. I love that you understand – so thanks again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 63,878 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
