An Easter Gift?

Tonight after we got back from Easter dinner with hubby’s family, everyone was hanging out in the kitchen gabbing about the day while I washed dishes.   I heard hubby quietly tell the kids to go get ready they were making a Wal-mart run.  Kid2 asked why and he said cuz he “didn’t get your mother anything for Easter yet.”

They all scattered to go get ready and I said – “I think you just said you were going to get me something for Easter?  He said yea.  I told him I didn’t get him anything, just the Easter bunny brings stuff for the baskets.  He has stuff for mine too.

He said “Oh Good!” with such relief.  Then he said he was going to have a beer then and watch some tv. LOL

It was funny because he looked exhausted and I could tell that just the thought of going to Walmart right then was the last thing he wanted to do.  He looked so forlorn!  Not a word I use often but it suits perfectly!  LOL

It is so nice that it occurred to him.

It’s also a little strange.  I don’t need an Easter gift, we’ve never done that.  I told him it was sweet that he thought of it but it wasn’t necessary.

Gift-giving occasions have caused a lot of tension and hurt feelings in this house.  This made me feel like he was really working on it though and wanted to make me happy.  It was sweet, very sweet.  It’s the  thought that counts anyway right?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 63,297 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
