Letting Go of a Grudge

Oh!  And here is something else I’ve been wanting to tell my blog friends…

Remember my hubby is the king of holding grudges?  Remember that he wouldn’t go to his sister’s house for years (5  I think) because he stuck his nose in an argument his sister had with his parents and then decided to hold a grudge against her?

Well Easter dinner was at sister’s house this year.  He said a few swear words when he heard that was where it was going to be.  But he didn’t say he wasn’t going until about 10 minutes before it was time to go.  I just brushed it off and told him to get ready.  And he did.

While dinner was still begin prepared, the kids all wanted to go see the new baby goats.  They were only a few days old.  So they ran out to the barn.  I followed and then sent kid3 back to get his dad.  I said tell him you want to show him the goats.  He did and hubby came out to the barn.  For the first time ever!

When I went back in the house to help sis-in-law in the kitchen, she asked where hubby was.  I told her he was out at the barn.  She look shocked and thrilled.  Her eyes teared up and she said she didn’t think he would come.

I told hubby that later.  I think it may have hit him in the heart a little.  I hope it did.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    Apr 21, 2013 @ 09:20:20

    Hope so. My husband learned to hold those grudges too from his parents. It is so sad.

    Reply

  2. Judi
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 14:30:00

    Well this is all about to make me cry (tears of hope and joy)….so much progress. The sad thing is I do believe our husbands love us and the kids and it is so frustrating that they can’t seem to show it. My husband has been better for the past few months and I honestly think he decided to change when he heard our 5 year old say Daddy acts like a jerk. It “hit him in the heart”.
    (thanks for all the updates!!)

    Reply

  3. Barbara
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 15:34:21

    My husband can really hold onto anger. The sad thing is, the people he holds a grudge against are no longer in his life. His anger only hurts him and holds him back. Granted, these particular people were/are awful people but letting go of anger is so important.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,715 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
