No Anniversary Facebook Post

I am a big fan of the blog Single Dad Laughing.

This is from his post called 25 Common Facebook Status Updates and What They REALLY Mean

“Common Facebook Status Update #5:
Today is our 15 year anniversary! We’ve had our ups and downs and the roller coaster has been a fun one. I really can’t believe it’s been so long already!
Translates to:
I want to shout out this big milestone but I know that almost all of you know that we’ve almost ended this marriage like fifty times and so I feel silly doing it.”

And this one is off topic but I think it’s hilarious cuz I can SO relate!

“Common Facebook Status Update #11:
Image post of a sleeping child with this caption: It’s been a really long day, Little Johnny had a few major melt-downs, but he just fell asleep and look how cute he is.
Translates to:
I gave him Nyquil. He’s not sick.  And I don’t feel guilty about it.”

The first one hit right on today.  Our 19th anniversary is coming up this weekend and I have no plans to post it on facebook.  I don’t really post a lot of things anyway, I mainly lurk on my kids and comment occasionally on posts by family.  2 or 3 years ago I posted that it was our anniversary – I said something like ’16 years and never a dull moment.’  That’s all I wrote.  The ONLY comment that got was from my s-i-l saying that she doesn’t know how I do it.  HA!

Of course it is possible that people who are not my close friends or family would not have known what that meant.  My guess though is that people did know and they also knew that my marriages sucked and had no comment because of that.  Anyway, as much as I like to think I don’t care if my posts get any comments, let’s all admit that it is a little weird when you write something and you get no response.

Another thing – a woman I know that is so completely fake on facebook and drives me insane makes beautiful heartfelt posts on her anniversary.  It’s a big long paragraph about how she married the perfect guy and how awesome he has made her life and blah blah blah.  The issue I have with that is that her husband is not even on facebook!  So we all know that post is written strictly for her to brag about her awesome life.  She also writes those big long mushy posts on her kid’s birthdays.  Don’t get me started on that.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Judi
    May 01, 2013 @ 14:20:31

    OMG….this is a pet peeve of mine too. The big long mushy gushy posts about their kids (particularly teenagers) or marriage. Realistically we all know that most parents would love to ship their teen off to boarding school cause they are about to pull their last hair out. And if i read another post about how so and so married their best friend i will just puke!

    I have a cousin who is the same age i am and has two boys in college. Best I can tell from her FB posts, she follows them around and takes photos with them and their teammates. She is all dolled up trying to look 25 and is smiling a big fake lipped smile with too much makeup on. (she has certainly had a lot of “work” done if you know what i mean) Anyway, I assume she has no job and her husband is off somewhere making the $$ to afford her lifestyle. She really makes me ill…….partly because i am jealous. Then i think she must be really lonely if she is desperately clinging to her collage aged kids to have a life!! HA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,710 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
