One More Good Thing: Parenting Together

One more thing – Kid1 was really being rude and mouthing off the other day.

HE STUCK UP FOR ME.

He told her she would NOT talk to her mother that way.  Are you kidding me?  And he keeps doing that!  It’s awesome.  He would never do that before.  Before he had this awesome parenting idea where he said “You do it your way, I’ll do it mine.”  Yea, that works.  Not.  Now though – I feel like we are actually in it together!  He actually steps up to the plate and dishes out some discipline.  When they aren’t listening, he makes them turn off the TV and get busy doing homework or whatever they were told. (Before he would just sit and watch it with them! No joke.) .

Kid2 wasn’t allowed to go to a movie night at her friends cuz she had attitude and didn’t help at all that day – we were all outside mowing and weeding strawberries etc.  She was told to help several times.  But even when she did finally come outside, she just complained and moved at turtle speed.  That was his decision completely, I never even brought it up!

He is actually parenting his kids in a way that makes sense.  Before he would not ever back me up.  He was the oh so fun dad that never made them do anything – until he got ticked that they never did anything and blew his top.  This is so much better!

OK.  I promise I’m done now.  I have to get to work.  I will ignore the half written posts that are me complaining about him and just focus on the positive today :)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judi
    May 21, 2013 @ 10:46:40

    So why do you suppose he has changed?

    Reply

  2. Judi
    May 28, 2013 @ 14:45:13

    Th reason i ask is that my husband has changed lately too but he can’t seem to tell my why or how. I am just always confused by this man…even when he is being good! LOL

    Glad your husband is doing better. :)

    Reply

  3. Zoe
    May 31, 2013 @ 14:46:32

    HI Judi! Sorry to take so long to reply! The short answer is that I think he finally believed I was DONE and would really leave. Ever since I read your comment a few days ago – I’ve been pondering this and hope to blog more about it soon.
    Yes, he is definitely being nicer. (That being said, yesterday he was a total jerk!)

    Reply

    • Judi
      Jun 03, 2013 @ 10:11:27

      OK…so our husbands are so much alike it isn’t even funny. (I bet you and I could sit and talk for like 2 days if we ever had a chance.)

      Why do they push us to the limit?

      At least they are trying….right? (some days i say yes and others it just doesn’t seam like enough)

      (((HUGS)))

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,685 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
