I Want to Learn To Dance

I have always admired people who can dance.  I LOVE musicals (movies) and performances.  Love it.  The only dancing I have done is at teen dances in high school and when I took ballet and tap for a year or 2 when I was little.  That’s it.

It’s been nagging at me lately.  OK, it’s been nagging at me ever since I decided to make my life better.  The majority of those “making my life better” changes though have been directed towards my marriage.  In the process, I have become more aware of what I have not been doing for myself.  If asked what I like to do or what my favorite hobbies are – I stare blankly and cannot think of a thing.  Happily, it has been books or websites asking me those questions and not actual people :)

So I’ve been thinking about it.  (It’s amazing what you have room in your mind for when you are not constantly worrying about how your hubby might treat you today or what kind of mood he will be in!)

I like to go geocaching, I like taking walks in the woods.   I used to enjoy crafty things too – but I think more as something to do with my kids and when I was a Girl Scout leader.  I enjoy decoupaging stuff too.  I think I might enjoy scrapbooking if I had the time/energy and could even find all my photos in the mess that is my life.

I like organizing things.  That is a work in progress for me and there is a long road ahead.  I used to be SO organized!  Seriously.  When marriage crap takes over your life there is no end to the amount of damage it causes!  I am embarrassed and tormented by the lack of organization and the mess of clutter in my life right now!  I was just too overwhelmed emotionally to deal with it or care I guess.  I cared when I felt guilty about it but not enough to put any energy into it apparently.  I’m working on that.

And then I thought of dancing.  But I am not a dancer!  What??   But I am in awe of people who can.  So why can’t I do that?

I thought of a friend of mine who took up running because her son joined the track team and she didn’t want him running on the trails alone.  Now she loves it and runs almost everyday of her life – with or without him.  And she is one of the track team coaches.  You go girl!

I’m 42, not too old to learn to dance.  God willing, I still have half of my life ahead of me. Why don’t I fill that time with something I love?  I wonder if I WILL love it.  Maybe I will find out that I like watching people dance better than I like actually dancing.  Well that would be ok too wouldn’t it?

I have absolutely no desire to dance in any formal way.  I just want to have fun and move and not feel stupid.  I want to look good and feel good when I’m dancing.  I think I’d be quite proud of myself if I could pull off some kind of dance routine in my own living room.  My sister and I used to do that when we were kids.  We made up all sorts of dance routines and put on shows for our friends.  Ha.  Perhaps I’m too old for that, but it still makes me smile when I think about it.  And when I hear a song we used, it really brings back memories!  Good ones.  Flight of the Bumblebee.  LOL  Seriously.  yes, classical music.  That music was awesome to dance to!

Forget ballroom dancing or ballet and all that.  I just want simple dances I can learn that I can have fun with.  I looked on amazon and there are a lot of different ‘learn to dance’ DVDs.  There are so many mixed reviews tho so I couldn’t decide which to buy.  Then I just googled it and found some neat ones on youtube.

So this morning I learned a quick dance from a video by Benjamin Allen.  Check it out.  It’s aimed at kids…. just my speed!  LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJ8iUKTUl-s&list=WLue1yQw3hu3csZpClVsZ2_qC0UPAY_XXR

I keep getting up from my office chair, standing here at my desk and doing the moves.  Ha.

I’m having fun already :D

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 19:20:21

    Go for it! Go for it all!

    Reply

  2. rootstoblossom
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 12:59:34

    Do it! Dancing is amazing! I started about 2 years ago with beginning classes. It is so much fun! Need to find the right teachers though, I’ve been very lucky in that. Look for local arts groups instead of formal dance studios, that’s where I found mine. They are all about fun, learning at your own pace and so much less expensive and they are willing to adapt to my limp and lack of flexibility.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,081 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
