Celexa vs Zoloft

I know that some people do use Celexa for anxiety – just from reading blogs etc I know that.  And the guy that posts the anxiety videos on youtube takes Celexa.

I still find it curious that Celexa is what my doctor suggested for me.  Straight from the medication guide that came from the pharmacy it says that Celexa (Citalporam) is used to treat depression.

Contrast that to Zoloft which says that it treats depression, panic disorder, OCD, PTSD, social anxiety disorder and PMDD.

I kinda think its funny that it is supposed to treat all those!  I should never have another bad day again in my life – even PMS! – if all goes according to plan!

Here’s hoping :)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rootstoblossom
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 11:55:11

    I’ve been on every one of those meds at one point or another in the past 20 years. I usually settled on Zoloft, it has the least side effects and most anxiety control for me. They all work on the serotonin pathway and they all work differently for each person. It always took me about a month to find the right dosage and get used to a new drug. I was on Zoloft for many years until the side effects became worse than my mood/panic/depression/anxiety and I weaned off of it. For me, I had terrible ringing in my ears on Zoloft, and decreased libido and ability to feel sexual pleasure, but that didn’t matter so much at that time, as nothing much was happening in the bedroom anyway. And the dreams, yes my dreams were so vivid on Zoloft, sometimes I would seriously question if they were real for a bit upon waking. It takes weeks for a drug like this to get out of your system, so just be careful not to judge too soon, as you actually have a slight interaction right now. I am rooting for you, I am confident that you will get some relief, because you are working so hard and determined to get back out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 64,660 hits
This blog is my personal journal. I am trying hard to save my marriage. No, I am trying to build a great marriage. In case you haven't heard, marriage is HARD!
I am fighting back against anxiety & panic attacks. This is year 5 of this adventure. I am also codependent. I am an ACOA. Fun, Fun. I am trying hard to become a better me.
